Count your blessings

Today I talked with an elderly friend about my anxiety, and we agreed that even though life can be difficult, there are always others who have had it worse than us.  

I know I’ve written about feeling homesick and shared with you how hard it can feel to live overseas.  This video…I relate to it so much, and yet I feel inspired by the man.  I’m not in this alone (even though it sometimes feels lonely).  He had to leave everything and everyone he knew and come live in a completely different world all by himself.  Wow.  I am blown away.

Count your blessings name them one by one.

Count your blessings see what God has done.

Count your many blessings name them one by one.

Count your many blessings see what God has done.

5 thoughts on “Count your blessings

  1. I got fortunate and both of my girls were head down, so I went for a vaginal delivery. I did, however, get an epidural at 9 1/2 cm just in case of an emergency cesarean. Even if baby b is head down they can flip as soon as baby a is out. As long as the doctor oks it I would personally go for vaginal, but have an epidural just in case so you don’t have to be put under. And I have heard that turning baby b is very painful. But recovery was soooo easy! Hope this helped!

  2. That video is beautiful! Made me tear up… It’s hard being away… But now with my son, I know being here is the best for him, do you feel the same?

    • Yes, I do in a lot of ways. Sometimes I wish we could move back so he could have an American childhood like I did, but I know Australia is where we’re supposed to be. I think he will have a wonderful life here.

      • I know what you mean; I’m also looking forward to seeing how different his childhood will be here in Germany, but with the bicultural family life 🙂 I do feel proud of parents like us, choosing to take on the challenge of immigrating and giving our babies a hopefully better life and opportunities!

Leave a Reply

