Be still…

I started a breathing exercise for my anxiety in the past couple of days and was advised to think of a word or phrase to repeat to myself while doing the exercise.

Be still and know that I am God.

Today, as I went about my day, I did the exercise and repeated this verse to myself.  One such time happened when I nursed Cody.  Not a sound in the house, my baby was contentedly feeding, and suddenly, my heart was still.  Still.  

When you feel anxious and your thoughts gallop away, stillness is not an option.  At that moment, peace and stillness washed over me, though. 

And then I realised…God helped me to continue nursing for a reason.  He knew I would need these quiet moments with my baby to have a few minutes of peace every day…to be still…and to acknowledge that He is God and has everything under control, even when I don’t.  I am so thankful for my milk supply, a good latch, and my sweet time with Cody when he’s nursing.  It’s a time when I know that something I do is life sustaining and beautiful.  Thank you, Lord.

Leave a Reply

