Flashback: Legacies

Flashback posts are journal entries that I wrote in the past 4 years since moving to Australia.  I hope you enjoy.  Also, don’t forget to follow me on twitter and pinterest, and a huge “Welcome” to my new followers!  I’m glad you’re here.

5 February, 2011

I’ve been thinking lately…about legacies…about the messages we give people and the examples we set.  I was looking at my friend’s pictures on her facebook, and she had one up of her and her mom.  My friend said something along the lines of “we’re so pretty,” and her mom responded, “I wouldn’t go that far.”  It’s easy for me to immediately think critical thoughts of this response, but how many times do we criticize ourselves for the sake of not seeming rude or haughty?  A few days later, I was at a church gathering with some of the ladies at church, and our topic of conversation eventually ended up on weight.  The topic fresh on my mind from my journal entries, I decided to sit back and observe.  I think most groups of women talking about food and weight, etc, would end up with the same reactions, so I’m certainly not out to criticize this group of women…I observed that every woman there had something negative to say about themselves. 

 
All of these situations had me thinking…what would happen if we started acknowledging that God has made us perfectly?  That we are “fearfully and wonderfully made?”  What if we started thanking people for the compliments they give us instead of immediately criticizing ourselves?  What would happen if we decided to stop counting calories and instead focus on treating our bodies with respect?
 
I think a revolution would happen…a revolution in the way that we feel about ourselves…a revolution in our outlook on people, on food, on confidence, on etiquette.  People would start to stand with a healthy confidence instead of a cheap version of confidence to cover their insecurities.  Kids would start to grow up thinking well of themselves instead of constantly feeling like they’re not good enough.  We would know how valuable we are to God and to the people that love us…and we would know that it’s not wrong to feel that way.  We would be able to help others and give of ourselves, because we would see ourselves as infinitely worth giving…able to help…able to encourage…able to be at peace with who God has made us instead of hating who we are and wondering why He made us that way.  We would be more thankful and less fearful…more settled and dependable and less anxious.  
 
If you are a mom, a dad, a sister, a brother, or a friend, these are things you need to think about.  (Did you notice that I covered everyone)?  Someone is watching the way you live.  Someone is watching the way you interact with others, the way you interact with yourself, and following your example.  Think about what you’re saying and know that it matters.

 

Leave a Reply

