Reflections: Free to dance

I love reading the post from yesterday because it reminds me of a time when I finally realised that I am a strong woman and I don’t have to let people push me around (even family).  So many times I’ve heard people talk about how “when you have no one else, there’s always family,” and “blood is thicker than water.”  I really hate these sayings, because my experience does not reflect this way of thinking.  I won’t get into the hairy details here, but I couldn’t depend on family the way my friends could.  (Things are better now with most of my family, so that part of my heart is slowly healing).  

I want something different for Cody.  I don’t want him to ever have to feel the fear that I felt or think about setting boundaries with one of his parents.  I want him to love who he is and the unique young man that God has made him.  And I believe he will have these things.  And I will fight like hell to make sure he does.

What was your experience with family?  Leave a comment below if you feel so inclined.  🙂

On a completely unrelated note, have you started following me on Twitter (link below)?  What about my pinterest boards?  

Also, I’m thinking these posts will not be weekly like I said yesterday, but perhaps a sporadic feature.  Stay tuned for more.

Leave a Reply

