Favorite things Friday

This is a new weekly feature where I’ll be sharing my favorite things around the web, in my life, and for different phases of a baby’s life.

164965_368321086602315_179780052_n

Photo courtesy of Absolute Amber

263229_316999305067827_1711288304_n

Courtesy of Absolute Amber

 

Since I gave birth to Cody, I have absolutely dreaded the thought of him teething.  I have started preparing for this event now in case he begins teething at 4 months.  I knew I wanted to get an amber teething necklace and was excited when one of my student’s moms was decked in one (and so were each of her kids).  She referred me to *Absolute Amber, and I am now awaiting not only a teething anklet for Cody (in cherry–very posh) but also a silicone necklace (in turquoise, because all the nursing clothes in Australia are very bland, and I need color in my life, dang it!).  Bec was prompt in her response to my inquiries and very helpful.  Obviously, I’m very excited about my purchases and looking forward to seeing if they help.

Image

Image from Amazon

Another thing I’ve dreaded? Losing the baby weight.  “Oh, if you’re breastfeeding, it will just melt off” they told me.  Not so.  I have not lost one pound and still look a few months pregnant (more on this in a future post).  Well, in a moment of weakness, I wrote on facebook about how unmotivated I feel to lose this weight, and my friend Olivia immediately messaged me and told me about a program she’s been on that’s helped her lose heaps of weight.  It’s called Trim Healthy Mama, and I’m now awaiting my copy.  This book was written by two women over a 5 year period, it’s based off the Bible, and there’s a lot of online support.  Not only that, but Olivia has organised a group locally that I can attend each week.  I’m thoroughly looking forward to starting and hopefully losing the remaining 30 lbs that’s still hanging on.

Something I love to do after Cody goes to bed is light some candles.  Lighting candles signals to me that I can relax and be an adult with two free hands for a few hours before I go to bed.  It’s a soothing ritual that I have come to enjoy, so when the opportunity to host a Partylite event presented itself, I jumped all over that.  I really enjoyed my party, and I love the candles I ordered.  I also ordered a melts warmer, which is something I’ve always secretly wanted but didn’t buy for some reason.  What kind of rituals do you have after your little one goes to bed?

And, last but certainly not least, Jen over at Epbot (who inspired me to start this series) wrote a post last week that included a topic she’s passionate about: Being a geek girl.  Jen writes a lot about embracing our nerdy/geeky side and not being ashamed of this.  She encourages young girls in particular to ignore the bullies and people out there that shame them out of being who they are, and it really helped me this week.  I grew up in a household filled with shame.  I have so many insecurities as a product of my upbringing, but Jen made me begin to reflect and ask myself, “What do I love?”  I will be writing more about this as my journey goes on, but I wanted to share her site with all of you, because it’s important that we stop being ashamed of who we are and embrace what we love.

On that note, I hope you all have a geektastic weekend filled with peace and Disney movies (or your heart’s equivalent).

*I am not being sponsored, I just am an incredibly happy customer.

Leave a Reply

