Double Rainbow all the way across the sky

Grüße aus dem Regenbogenland...

 
PHoto by Claude@Munich via Flickr
Soon after we moved to Australia, I got a job at a local tea shop.  I had to drive about 40 minutes to get to or from work each time, and sometimes the drive would get a bit monotonous.  One rainy day after work, I saw three rainbows.  I couldn’t believe it, and I thanked God the whole way home for His promises and symbols of His promises.

Recently, the Lord has weighed on my heart to use this year as a time to learn how to give…to be others centered instead of so focused on my own needs.  Simple things like sharing my gluten free cookies at church even though everyone else can eat all the other things available…like making meals for families in need at church…like crocheting things for women that need encouragement…you get the idea.  I was baffled to realise how me-focused I’ve been.

Today, as I reflected on other ways I could give back, I thought about the nature of God.  He gives so freely and so regularly.  He enjoys giving…takes delight in giving.  The day I saw the rainbows, I knew God was giving me some encouragement and beauty on my drive home.  And each day He does this for me.  Sometimes I see it, and other times I don’t.  What I do know, though, is I want to strive to be more like Jesus.  I want to give freely and take absolute joy in each way that I give, whether others notice or not.

What are your favorite ways to give?

Leave a Reply

