Breastfeeding: What I wish I’d known

Thank you ladies again for all your support and encouragement.

I finally have a second to sit down and post on the computer with a keyboard instead of just from my phone, so I thought I’d type what’s been on my mind to share with you about breastfeeding.

First of all, my perspective on public breastfeeding has changed so much.  I still think women should be modest and cover up and perhaps go to another room if there are men that are uncomfortable with it, but I totally get that the baby just needs to eat and so we feed them.  

As for what I wish I’d known, I wish I’d known to rent a pump from the get go.  I didn’t, and I truly believe not having that tool has been a root cause for my supply dropping so rapidly.  It has been quite a few weeks since I’ve actively tried to boost my milk supply, and I’m only just getting to the point where I’m exclusively breastfeeding for all but 3 feeds in 24 hours.  

I wish I’d known that women with PCOS have problems with milk supply.  Had I known this, I could’ve gone into the whole process armed with the info I needed.  I would’ve taken herbs from the start (fenugreek, flax seed, oatmeal, raspberry leaf, and goat’s rue, to name a few.  I’m on all of these now).

As for what we’ve been doing to boost supply, one of the different things that most people don’t know about is using a supply line.  A supply line allows you to supplement formula or pumped breastmilk while still feeding at the breast.  It’s a bottle with a tiny straw that you wear and use with a nipple shield.  The baby still feeds at the breast and gets a combo of breast milk and formula and it allows them the extra they need.  This also helps stimulate the breast and boost milk supply.  As much as I am so so looking forward to getting rid of it, I’m thankful we’ve had this option because it’s what Cody needed.

Low milk supply is a scary thing.  Cody started losing weight in the 2nd week of his life and had urates in his diaper every time I changed it.  He wasn’t pooping at all and hardly peed.  He broke out in a rash all over his body (something we still cannot figure out) and was generally screaming and unhappy.  This was all due to him not getting enough food because of my low supply.  I think my problems are a combination of a bad latch and pcos.  

A day after starting the supply line, the rash started to disappear, diapers started to feel heavy, urates disappeared, and he was happier.  I cried my way through it, but I’m glad he got what he needed.  

I hope and pray none of you have supply issues, but if you do, I hope some of this info has helped.  Thanks for reading.

8 thoughts on “Breastfeeding: What I wish I’d known

  1. I felt that I could have been better prepared for breastfeeding as well. I think if I have a second baby, everything I know from this time around will really help make things go more smoothly. My supply dipped super low right after Alex was born because he wasn’t latching, so I can empathize with how scary that is. I pumped and ate oatmeal and drank mother’s milk tea and red raspberry tea and kept attempting to nurse all the time, and thankfully it worked and his latch improved slowly but surely and my milk finally came in. We had the urates in the diaper too though, and I was so so happy when his pee started to look normal again!

    I’m so glad things are looking better for you and Cody! I’m sure it will only continue to get better. Good for you for working so hard to breastfeed! So many women might have given up by now.

    My perspective on public breastfeeding has changed as well. Funny how that happens. I’m sure I’d feel my baby anywhere if I needed to, and if people didn’t like it, oh well. A hungry baby must be fed!

  2. I feel like I could write a post with the same title. But I can’t bring myself to make all my woes public and won’t make a soapbox out of your blog either but I will just say that they weren’t kidding when they said it would be the hardest thing ever. For sure. Im close to quitting. I hope things continue to improve for you!.

  3. So proud of your for sticking with breastfeeding! It’s so hard, and you are an amazing woman for enduring so much to make this wonderful choice for your little boy! I am so happy things have started to turn around for you and Cody! Hugs

    • As I started typing my comment I looked up and read dnwible’s. I stopped typing because she’d said everything that I’d intended to say already and I’m typing one-handed (I’m breastfeeding my two-week old in the cradle position with my dominant arm, lol). Rock on, Mama!

  4. Thank you so much for posting this. Who knew that feeding our babies could be so nerve-racking? I didn’t know about a supply line. That is such a wonderful idea!! I just recently had a supply issue for the first time last week and it really shook me up. There’s something so primal about wanting to feed our babies and when it doesn’t work, it was hard for me not to feel like I had failed mine. My issue was dehydration. We had a little heat wave and I had overdone the exercise a bit. Lesson learned. I’ve been pounding down the H20 and made a batch of lactation cookies. I’m just now seeing an improvement.
    I am so inspired by your dedication and willingness to do whatever you could to continue feeding your baby with boding in mind. I know that was important to you so I think it’s awesome that you got creative and figured it out the best you could. Your story is important for others to hear because so many women struggle with this. Thanks again for sharing =)

  5. Reblogged this on Kinda Crunchy and commented:
    A candid post from “Laughing Promises” about the challenges that can come with breast feeding. I think a lot of moms can relate to this! I love her honesty and determined attitude! Hope you enjoy this post as much as I did. =)

  6. Pingback: Letting go a little more | laughingpromises

Leave a Reply

