Normalcy. Kind of.

image

I’m finally gaining some sense of normalcy. My sweet boy is doing well, and we have persevered with breastfeeding. I had to use a supply line for 2 weeks and have been taking medication to keep my supply up. I’m still using a nipple shield, but I don’t mind. My little boy is getting the nutrients he needs. And breastfeeding is finally becoming a nice relaxing time for me and Cody.

Other things that are getting back to normal:
My moods. Not so weepy and sensitive most days.

My house…sort of. Still so so messy but I am getting small windows in each day where I can do a load of dishes or laundry.

My marriage. Again, small windows.

Eating. I’m getting more opportunity for this.

Sleeping. He actually does ok at night. Feeds a little and sleeps for long stretches most of the time. This is far more manageable than the constant night feedings that happened in the first few weeks.

Other than that, still a work in progress. Sweet cuddles with Cody make it all the better and worthwhile. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Normalcy. Kind of.

  1. First off….LOVE the pic! His hair is so long! I love the name too 🙂

    I’m glad to hear things are going well with sleep and bfing. They sure do make it tough! But he is a cutie which definitely makes it worth it huh? We are slowly finding our rhythm too but not without our own obstacles.

    It’s good to hear from you! Keep those pictures coming and keep pushing through! you’re doing great, mama!

  2. He is just too adorable! COngratulations once again and well done on persevering with the breast feeding! All the moms I know just gave up and I really want to believe that I will keep going until I get it right (if I have any problems)…. Glad to hear your finding your feet in other areas – has it been really big adjustments or not so bad?

    • Big adjustments, yes, but definitely a sweet time. As far as breastfeeding goes, get a support system in place if you can. If it wasn’t for my midwife and lactation consultant, I definitely would’ve given up too.

  3. I’m so glad you have a good support system to encourage you to continue breastfeeding! I can relate to problems there and I know it can get so discouraging! I just now feel like Alex and I are figuring things out, and I still have days where I worry about it. Parenting is a big change and it’s HARD, but I know you are doing such a good job being Cody’s mommy! He is SO blessed to have a mommy who will persevere through such difficult challenges to do what is the absolute best for him. He is going to thank you some day for working so hard for him!

    Congratulations to you and your husband on your wonderful beautiful son. 🙂

    I’m also so happy to see this update from you. I know how tough it is to blog during the first few weeks. I look forward to hearing more!

Leave a Reply

