Quick update

Thank you all so much for your sweet words of congrats and encouragement.

Things are going ok but we’ve had a rough road. Breastfeeding has not come easily at all, but I am determined. My little man was on the verge of dehydration because my supply is so low. So we are supplementing with a supply line and working on increasing my supply. Turns out women with pcos have a hard time keeping up a good supply. Ah well…we will get there.

I will try to update more soon. Thanks for reading.

6 thoughts on “Quick update

  1. Oh man, I completely feel for you! Alex had trouble nursing at first. That plus really bad jaundice resulted in severe dehydration for him as well and we had to supplement for a few days. I also had to pump and eat oatmeal and stuff to increase my supply because he hadn’t been nursing enough to stimulate it. I was so upset and distraught over the whole thing and it was really tough, so I can imagine you must be having similar feelings. I encourage you too soldier on though (and I know you will!), and things will get better! All the other newborn challenges will get better too! I’m so so sorry you have to deal with these problems and I’ll be praying that things will improve and that you will have the strength and courage you need to get through the rough times! 🙂 It WILL get better, I’m sure of it! Hugs!!

  2. I share your pain, love! Being a human cow is exhausting and tough! And I have had my ups and downs too. It seems like everytime I think I have figured something out, I get thrown a different curveball. Just know that you are not alone. I was worried about supply issues too for a bit, so I decided to get serious about drinking more water and also started drinking milkmaid tea. It seems to be doing the trick for now! unfortunately we are thinking our little man has his days and nights mixed up. No fun for me! Hang in there! We are all here to support each other!

  3. Breastfeeding is so hard! Its so much harder than people talk about, probably because its so hard to explain to someone who isn’t going through it. I am so sorry its so tough right now, its not fair that breastfeeding is so difficult at the beginning, when we need the most rest. Congratulations for sticking with it this far! Interesting about pcos, I have never heard that! But I also don’t know much about pcos at all. I know its so hard to go through breastfeeding challenges, I never made it past 2 weeks with my first baby. You are doing a great job!

  4. Breastfeeding IS hard and it’s a shame we don’t talk about it more so we don’t feel so surprised when we find out. Three days in, after trying for 3 hours to feed my baby and ending up sore and frustrated with a tired, hungry, and frustrated baby I said yep, I totally understand why a lot of women give up on this!

  5. Wow, I have so been there… TWICE. Breastfeeding, I believe, is the most emotionally and physically demanding thing a woman could ever go through… The guilt, the pressue, “am I doing it wrong?!”, etc…. Just wanted to drop a line and say you’re doing a good job. Because you are!

Leave a Reply

