Blessing my husband

I may not have mentioned this before, but I do not keep secrets well.  

A few weeks ago, I saw an idea on pinterest that I loved and immediately decided to use it.  The idea: A “care package” for my husband for when we go to give birth.  I went to the store and had so much fun picking out all his favourite snacks (chips n salsa, his favourite candy bars, soda, cashews, etc).  When I got home, I snuck it inside and put it all in a gift bag with a note telling him how much I appreciate him and how much it’s meant to have his support through this pregnancy.  

I have always wanted to surprise my husband with a gift he loved.  So far, in nearly 5 years of marriage, I have not accomplished this goal.  Until now.  

A few days ago, he wandered the house saying how much he wanted a candy bar.  He caught a look on my face, and since I’m not a good liar, I spilled that I had some things set aside for him.  I told him it’s supposed to be for the birth, but if he wanted to break into it early, we could replenish the snacks.  He agreed, and I told him where I had it hidden.  I have NEVER heard him so excited about something that I’ve bought him.  He went cheering through the house and eventually came and gave me a big hug.  With tears in his eyes, he told me how much he felt loved and appreciated and how good of a wife I am.  I couldn’t believe that such a small act of kindness toward him could produce such a big reaction.  He hasn’t read the note yet, because he’s saving that for just before we leave, which is nice.  He will still have something special from me just before we welcome our son into the world.  

Anyway, I wanted to share this idea for any of you expecting mamas or just for you wives who want to bless your husband in some way.  Mine is still raving about the gift, and my heart warms each time knowing that it meant so much to him.

6 thoughts on “Blessing my husband

  1. This is such a BRILLIANT idea and I am so definitely going to try this. Its sometimes the smallest things that make the biggest impact,especially when its something that you had to put abit of effort into.

    • I think you’re right! I didn’t feel like it was anything exceptionally hard or out of the way that I did, but my husband’s reaction proved to me that sometimes it is the little things that mean the most. I’m glad you like the idea. I can’t take full credit for it, but I hope your hubby likes it as much as mine did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

