Shingles

Friday, I had to take my mother in law to the airport.  Hubby was working, so it was a roadtrip with her and then by myself on the way home.  This wasn’t a problem, but I noticed on the way home I was getting a sharp stabbing pain in my upper shoulder and above my breast on the same side.  It got worse as the day went on, and I had no idea why.  Well, Saturday morning I woke up to have a slight rash in both the areas.  I happened to see my midwife at a birthday party of a mutual friend that day, and she had a look at it.  I thought it was PUPPS, but she said it was probably shingles.  As the weekend went on, I was sure she was right.  

Today I went to the GP who officially diagnosed it as shingles.  It’s now turned into a blistering, itchy, and slightly painful rash.  I can’t wait until the blisters burst, because that will bring some relief, I think (and hope and pray).  Thank the Lord there is no risk to the baby for me to have shingles.  There is a risk to my husband, though.  He grew up in Granada (until he was 10) and didn’t have chicken pox as a child.  He has had the vaccine, but I’m still a little concerned that he could contract it.  So, I’ve been sleeping on the couch and we’ve been keeping our distance as much as we can.  Hopefully that does the trick.

I was prescribed an antiviral medication to take to speed things up, but I think I’ve decided against taking it.  Shingles runs its course whether you take the meds or not, and this late in my pregnancy, I feel it’s more of a risk to the baby than I want to take.  So, a few more days (hopefully) and it will run its course.

I’ve also lost my appetite a bit today.  Nothing tastes right, and when I eat, I feel like I might throw it up.  Hopefully I’m eating enough for bub.  I’m eating all I can stomach.  

Anyway, hope none of you get this!  I feel like an old lady, but at least the baby will get antibodies from it and I won’t have to have it again when I am an old lady (most likely). 

 

20 thoughts on “Shingles

    • Yeah, that’s what I’m planning on. I spoke with my midwife about it, and she spoke with the doctor at the hospital as well. They all suggested that I refrain for now but if it spreads more then take the meds. So far it’s not spreading anymore, just starting to blister (which is just one of the stages). I think it’s just a mild case, so it should be okay, but I will definitely take your advice if it starts to get worse. 🙂

Leave a Reply

