33 weeks: Christmas, postpartum prep, and trouble with names

I don’t have much to update you for 33 weeks, because I pretty much told you the drama of it in my last post.  

Image

Christmas is in 3 weeks.  Whoa.  Christmas is so so different here in Australia.  What I miss most is hearing Christmas music everywhere and being able to listen to it on the radio.  The radio stations don’t play it here!  So sad.  Also, it’s summer…so in America you have Christmas and then summer is a whole other event…here it’s summer and Christmas and then in winter there’s just nothing happening.  Sad.  One thing that did make me feel better was a post that Robin Jones Gunn made this morning about her 2nd Christmas in Hawaii.  She didn’t seem sad and upset like I do every year on Christmas over here, she just makes the best of it and molds her traditions around making new Hawaiian traditions.  I want to become more upbeat about Christmas over here and establish new Aussie traditions that we can feel a bit more at home about.

I got my Christmas decorations out the other day only to realise that most of them are ornaments, and this year we don’t have a tree.  So, I did what I could to Christmas up our place, but I’d like to do a lot more.  It’s okay, though, because we are saving money for the baby, and that is my true focus this year.  I have washed all his clothes and organised them by size.  I have washed his 10 or so baby blankets that we received at the shower and organised them by season, and I have started packing his bag for the birth (which will be at my midwife’s house).  I still have a lot left to do, but I’m waiting for hubby to be done with school (after next week) so he can help me lift things up and store things away that need to get out of the way before we can truly organise and arrange little man’s room.  

This week has been spent very busily doing what needs to be done to get ready.  I made some postpartum maternity pads (will do a separate post on that) and wrote out some of my fear feelings about being a parent (very helpful just to get it out and see what’s actually true, btw).  I’ve been looking at names again, but I have no idea what we’re going to name this baby.  

Anyway, that’s my week in a nutshell.  Sorry it’s not more exciting, but hopefully I can do a few more posts in the coming weeks about certain things I’m doing to prepare and get ready.  Plus, we have maternity photos coming up!  

Hope you all have had a great week!

6 thoughts on “33 weeks: Christmas, postpartum prep, and trouble with names

  1. What a bummer to not hear Christmas music on the radio! While I do suppose it would be odd to hear “Let It Snow” in the summertime, I think I would be sad if I went a whole holiday season without at least hearing songs about the REASON for the season. Maybe its time you make your own music! I keep a Christmas mix on my iPod and also have a fair collection of CDs. I’d be pulling those out if I were you! But thats me 🙂

    You look adorable by the way!

    • Yes, I need to buy heaps of Christmas CDs! I only have 1 and a few songs on itunes right now. That is an excellent idea. And, thank you! I’m getting to the uncomfortable bit, but it’s all good. Just a part of the process that will fly by.

  2. Such a cute baby belly! And I can kind of understand your Christmas frustration although not to that extent. But is 70 degrees here one the island so it doeasnt feel like the winter I grew up with! I can’t imaginenot having Christmas music in the radio though!!!

    • Thanks! Well, I grew up in FL, so I don’t mind a bit of warmth…but 90 degrees is a bit hotter than where I lived haha. I think I just need to buy some CDs like Kelly said and make some new traditions for us. That might have to wait till next year, though, cause I’m too busy nesting and getting ready for our little man (which is so much fun).

Leave a Reply

