A small scare

The other day, I woke up and realised the baby hadn’t moved much during the night.  Feeling a little worried, I decided to eat breakfast and wait to see if he would perk up (he usually does after breakfast).  When I didn’t feel much else, I went to the store and bought an ice cold, sugary drink, came home and drank it, laid down on the couch and waited.  Still only small movements.

I was terrified.  I waited for 2 hours…and nothing changed.  Baby was moving some, but not as much as usual.  I texted my midwife, because I knew I couldn’t do anything about it until after my lesson (I only had one that day and it was the last one of the year) and waited some more.  She replied after a little while and said that can be normal when the baby changes position and as he grows but it’s important to note any changes.  We set up a time for me to come see her anyway and for her to check and make sure he’s okay.  

All day, I avoided my thoughts as much as I could.  I washed some baby clothes and did a lot around the house.  There’s nothing like stress to give you energy.  I didn’t realise how upset I really was until I was sitting in her office as she asked me questions about the baby and movement.  

When I got up on the table for her to check him, I took a deep breath and tried not to cry.  Soon, though, I heard the most beautiful sound–his strong heartbeat.  I couldn’t hold my tears in any longer.  My baby was just fine…just giving his mom a heart attack already.  We listened for 5 minutes or so, and she reassured me that since his heartbeat kept changing and didn’t stay the same and it was all within the normal range, he was fine.  And, of course, he made a liar out of me and moved more than he had all day when she was there. I didn’t care, though…my baby is fine and healthy.  I’m so glad I went to see her and make sure, too, because his movements have changed.  I guess him being in the head down position has made a big difference in what I’m feeling.  Now that I know he’s fine, I’m not complaining.  

11 thoughts on “A small scare

  1. So glad everything is ok! I know how stressful it can be. My OB told me to count movements twice a day. As long as there are 10 in a 2 hour period it is ok. Some mornings he is slow to move around and it is getting to be an hour and a half and I have only felt maybe 5-6. Other days He does all 10 in 15 minutes! Crazy kids! 🙂

    • Yeah, they like to tease their mamas early on. I’m so glad I got checked out, though, because his movements have definitely changed and continued to be the same as they were that day. Less kicking and more squirmy movements that don’t feel as big. He is getting a bit more active, too, though. Maybe he just needed to get used to being head down or something.

  2. Sometimes I feel like I haven’t felt my little one move for awhile (even though it’s probably only been a few minutes- ha!) and I freak out a little. I’ve been known to poke and prod until the poor little dear awakes (and then I think “why in the world did I just do that??” when the rib, kicking resumes 🙂

    Anyway, I’m so glad your baby is doing ok, and I can relate to that stressed feeling!

  3. I think part of thinking you can’t feel them move (in my case) is that you get so accustomed to feeling it, that you stop noticing…? When I am busy at work I’m not paying attention. Scary though. I was very concerned about small twin for a while, but turns out she’s just kicking her sister!

  4. Pingback: 33 weeks: Christmas, postpartum prep, and trouble with names | laughingpromises

Leave a Reply

