30 weeks! (and a few days)

This week has brought much more laziness than the past weeks.  I haven’t wanted to wear makeup or do my hair or the dishes or cook or anything.  I’ve wanted to lounge and shop and teach piano and do nothing else.  I guess the “extra” responsibilities feel tiring to me right now.  My groin still hurts, but only in the mornings now, for the most part.  

My feet are still swelling quite a bit, but I went to the podiatrist yesterday and she’s going to help figure out what’s going on.  I wouldn’t be concerned if it was just swelling a little, but my right foot swells constantly and hurts to walk on.  It was acting up before my appointment yesterday, which was good, because she really got to see what’s going on.  When she pressed on my swollen foot, it would leave dent marks (not good).  She said this means that my lymphatic system probably isn’t working properly.  So, she taped my foot up to give it a bit of support and I go back Friday to see what to do as our next step.  If it is my lymphatic system, I’ll have to go for reflexology massages (which sounds kind of awesome to me).  If it’s not that and the tape helps, I will have to get really ugly orthopedic shoes (not thrilled about, but I’d rather do that and not be in so much pain).  So, we’ll see.  I’m constantly amazed at how expensive pregnancy can be and how much more high maintenance I’m becoming with each week.

Speaking of which, I had a midwife appointment on Monday, and we talked about why the baby might be breech.  She mentioned that sometimes if the mother is holding onto fears or emotions that are distressing to her, the baby will sense that and want to be closer to her heart (aaaw).  So, as we started talkiing, a few things came up.  She suggested I go see a counselor or the homeopath I saw a few months ago for my cough.  We decided the homeopath might be the best option, because I’m already comfortable with her, we can talk through some things, and she can give me some remedies that might turn baby.  So, I will probably go do that next week since I’ve had 2 appointments and 1 more this week that are adding up to expensive.

We’re still waiting on the mattress (another week, boo).  I guess it hasn’t come in yet.  That’s okay, though, because I know the anticipation will make it that much better.

Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “30 weeks! (and a few days)

  1. What a sweet way to talk about baby being breech 🙂 I’m glad you have great resources for the things you’re facing, even though it means extra expense. I just talked to an awesome chiropractor on the phone and am right now crossing my fingers that our insurance covers it because I REALLY want to go see this particular doctor! Anyway, the foot swelling does NOT sound fun, but the massage thing sure does! Hope you find relief very soon! 🙂

    • Thanks! Yes, it’s getting very expensive for us, but hopefully that will die down a bit once baby comes (ha). I hope you get to see the chiro! Going to one has helped me tremendously and my hip pain is much better.

  2. You are listening to your body, which is good. You might need extra rest at this point in your pregnancy ;-). Sorry to hear about the swelling, and I hope it’s nothing serious. Take care!

    • Thanks for making me feel better about my “laziness.” You’re right–I’m trying to listen to my body and not overwork myself. It’s hard not to think of it as laziness when I can usually do these things, but I need to be a bit easier on myself for the next little bit, I think. I’m hoping the swelling isn’t serious, either. I don’t think it is, but we’re keeping an eye on it just in case. I will know more on Friday.

  3. Ugh – I am with you the swelling – really really not fun. I hope it isn’t serious too – my doc said over the phone that I only need to worry if I have headaches and impaired vision. I don’t have those but I will show him the state of my feet and ankles this weekend at my scheduled appointment.
    Hope you get some good news. 🙂

    • Thanks! Yeah, mine is not preeclampsia as far as we can tell. My blood pressure has been superb and I haven’t had the headaches or vision problems. Today the tape is really itchy, so I can’t wait till tomorrow when I can find out what’s going on and take the stinkin tape off haha.

Leave a Reply

