29 weeks: flashing lights, fatigue, and toenail polish problems

Image

29 Weeks!

Cravings: Milk, peanut butter and jelly

Aversions: none

Symptoms: Groin pain, swollen feet, flashing lights, Fatigue

This week has brought a bit more discomfort, but I’m thankful for my job which allows me to have the rest I need in the morning.  The biggest pain has happened in my groin area.  It literally feels like someone has repeatedly kicked me there (and maybe little man has and I just didn’t realise how much).  The midwife says in the third trimester, a new rush of prolactin happens that does allow hips, groin, and joints to loosen even more in preparation for the birth.  

My feet continue to swell on days where I’m up in constant activity.  Also, my poor toenails look awful, but I can’t bend down to paint them anymore.  I’m thinking about going to see how much it would be for someone to just change the paint on them (although maybe I should just splurge and get a full pedicure, but the cheapest ones I’ve seen over here are still $50).  

A few times this week, I’ve seen “flashing lights.”  Of course, as soon as this first happened, I called my midwife and asked whether or not I should worry.  She said as long as it’s not accompanied by headaches or feeling generally unwell, it’s not a sign of preeclampsia.  Whew!  Not only that, but my blood pressure readings have been on the low side every time, so we’re not concerned.  She said it’s fairly common for pregnant women to get this with out preeclampsia.  It’s just an indication of blood pressure change.

Oh man, have I been tired this week!  It hits me every morning after I’ve had a good breakfast and a bit of time to relax.  Then, I need another nap.  Luckily, my job allows me to have the mornings to rest since I don’t teach until after school most days.  So, I’ve been taking 45 minute or hour long naps whenever I feel like this, and it makes a huge difference in how I feel the rest of the day.  Part of the reason for this fatigue has to be the fact that we’re sleeping on a 20+ year old mattress.  The good (no, great–no, amazing) news is, we have ordered a brand new mattress that should be here next Tuesday.  I can’t wait!  We also found a lovely bedframe to go with it, so I feel like our room will finally look like a grown up room and not just a couple who’s trying to make it with hand-me-downs.  I can’t wait to try the new mattress and see if it helps us both in how well-rested we feel.  Poor hubby says I’ve been keeping him up with my movements and noises each night.  I don’t remember moaning, but he says I moan in pain every night (hips still bother me, but they’re starting to get a bit better, and I expect that will improve more after next week).  We also upgraded from a full (double) to a queen.  Cannot wait.

That’s pretty much it for this week!  I’m gonna go take a nap.  Hope y’all have a great day!

9 thoughts on “29 weeks: flashing lights, fatigue, and toenail polish problems

  1. Flashing lights, eh? I had that a little bit too and they found my iron was low. Then again, I also had it as an EARLY pregnancy symptom and have since chalked it up to increased blood volume screwing with my vision.

    And OMG $50 for a pedicure? Yikes! I hope for that price it at least comes with a seriously long foot and leg massage.

    Well, yay for naps and I hope you feel better soon and don’t have to deal with the pains another 11 weeks!

  2. Two things that have been total life savers for me is Groupon.Try have a look if you can get it where you are but you can pick up some amazing deals for sometimes more than half the price. Over here they always have mani/pedi deals so maybe you can splurge without the big spend. http://www.groupon.com
    The other is the Preggy Roll pregnancy pillow. Its been great for my back,which has been killing me at night. Have a look online and see if you can get something similar.Even better is that you can use it with baby when he arrives for nursing or just lazing. http://www.dudurange.co.za/results1.asp?category=a007&subcat=Snuggle%20Time

Leave a Reply

