Placenta encapsulation

The last two days have really brought me back…to the age of oh-so-dramatic 14.  I remember feeling so upset about the silliest things…and knowing they were silly but not being able to stop needing a good cry or fit.  Welp folks, 14 year old Sam has made a reappearance.  For reasons I don’t even understand, everything upset me yesterday.   

Image

Placenta pills. From birth-pools.com

This brings me to my next thought.  Because I have tendencies toward depression and major mood swings in the past, I have researched placenta encapsulation and decided to “give it a go.”  The benefits include: 

  • they contain your own natural hormones
  • perfectly made for you
  • balance your system 
  • replenish depleted iron
  • give you more energy
  • lessen bleeding postnatally
  • been shown to increase milk production
  • help you have a happier postpartum period
  • hasten return of uterus to pre-pregnancy state
  • helpful during menopause

My husband thinks it’s disgusting, as I’m sure many others do, but I am willing to try it knowing that I won’t have the crazy fluctuations of hormones that normally come with giving birth.  I suppose having it encapsulated makes me feel a little more detached from the thought of actual consumption.  I truly believe that the Lord has given us this organ for a reason and a very useful reason.  It may seem gross to our western society, but I am looking forward to the benefits.  

For more information, go to: 

Passionate homemaking

Placenta benefits.info

Would you ever consider consuming your placenta somehow?

 

15 thoughts on “Placenta encapsulation

    • That’s a good article! I totally agree–it’s crazy not to! As I said to Jenn, we only have a certain number of times we can try this, so why wouldn’t we go for it? Also, sidenote: My husband is supportive of it, too, he just doesn’t understand it. I think he’s kind of like, “I would never want to do that and I don’t want to think about it, so if you want to go ahead and then we don’t have to talk about it anymore.” Hahaha he’s a funny chap.

      • Oh no, I get it!! I remember hearing about this awhile back and thinking, NEVER! But like with most things, once you gather information and talk to other people it’s much easier to make an “educated” choice, and not just one based on “reaction”. Yay for supportive husbands — no matter how they get there!

  1. I have actually been seriously considering doing this as well! My husband thinks I definitely should, and we had a good talk with our doula about it (she is the one who would do the encapsulation). I know a lot of people find it repulsive (my former coworkers were beside themselves with disgust when I told them that “some people” ingest their placenta, haha), but as long as I don’t see any harm in it, I’ll probably give it a go. It’s worth not feeling depressed or severely fatigued after giving birth, right?!

  2. Pingback: Placenta Encapsulation « Natural Birth

  3. Pingback: Happy Blogiversary! | laughingpromises

  4. Pingback: What they don’t tell you about post partum recovery | laughingpromises

Leave a Reply

