26 weeks pregnant: Braxston Hicks, hip pain update, kicks for hubby, and a special day of remembrance

Image

26 weeks!

My favourite part of pregnancy so far is eating what I’m craving and not feeling guilty about it.  I don’t know if this has happened to anyone else, but sometimes when I’m craving something, I can actually smell or taste it.  A little weird, yes, but kind of one of those novelty pregnancy things that I enjoy.  Lately my cravings have included cake with chocolate icing, milk (with every meal), and iced tea.

A lot of excitement happened this week.  The most exciting thing: Baby finally kicked for Hubby.  3 big kicks!  Until this point, every time Hubby would put his hand on my tummy, the baby would stop kicking.  I have no idea why, but I’m glad he finally let Hubby know that he’s in there and does love him and stuff.  I think I felt more concerned about this than Hub, though (he’s chill).  I also had a great week meeting with friends and officially found a photographer for the maternity photos.  She’s a lovely friend that’s doing it as a hobby, so she won’t let us pay her (even though I tried).  I will definitely buy her a gift of some sort as a “thanks,” though.  When I have weeks where I have a lot of social activities, I realise how many friends I have actually made here.  In the past, I’ve just thought I don’t have any friends and mope when I’m homesick (because “all my friends are back in the U.S.”), but I’m seeing now how many friendships I do have in Australia.  They’ve been slower moving, yes (part of the culture, from what I can tell), and it has taken me 3 years to feel this way.  I guess, I see one more piece of the culture shock puzzle in place and done with, which feels wonderful.

I haven’t mentioned Braxston Hicks contractions yet.  I’ve been getting them a few weeks now, but I thought they were the baby trying to burrow into my abdomen/bladder.  It doesn’t hurt, but it’s a tightening feeling that’s hard to describe.  This is a normal part of pregnancy that simply means my uterus is toning for the big day.  So, yay, I guess.

Also, my hip pain is slightly better since last week.  I went to the chiropractor, and that made a huge difference.  I’ve also been *trying* to walk more (although it’s freakin hot outside–at least to me), which has helped.  Plus, the chiro gave me some tips on how to sleep to avoid the hip pain, and although it only relieves some, it has made a slight difference when I wake up in the morning.  I feel bad for hubs, though, because I know I toss and turn a lot and moan when it hurts badly, and he said the other morning that he’s not sleeping well.  I really hope we can upgrade our mattress size real soon, but we’ll see.

As some of you know, today is Pregnancy and Infant Loss remembrance day in the U.S.  To commemorate all the parents who have lost their babies, I will be entering a special time of prayer during my regular devotion time.  I know a few of you on this network of ttc/pregnancy blogs that have lost your little ones in the past year, some very recently, and I will be especially thinking of you in this time.  My heart goes out to all of you and to every parent who has lost a child.

4 thoughts on “26 weeks pregnant: Braxston Hicks, hip pain update, kicks for hubby, and a special day of remembrance

  1. Lookin’ good, lady! That goes for the blog too! I’m glad your hip pain is better! Maybe I need to go to a chiropractor…

    And yay for hubby feeling him kick! What a special moment, huh?

    • Thanks! I highly recommend the chiropractor. Studies do show that women who go to the chiro have shorter and more manageable labors as well, so that’s a plus. 🙂

  2. I hope your hip feels better! Mine is like that too…and it’s always just ONE! Weird! Never had it before! I always waited for braxton hicks and thought they would feel differently than they did…… with mine it was just my stomach getting super hard and sticking out a little more…my husband would notice it more than me because I would often ask him to rub the bump and it would get stone hard when he was rubbing and he would look at me like I was a unicorn and ask if I was okay! lol

    • I start out with just one hurting more than the other, but as the night goes on, both of them hurt! I can usually pick the side that hurts less, though. Braxston hicks are weird, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

