16 weeks pregnant: back aches, crazy nails, amazing hair.

Image

16 weeks pregnant! Baby is now 5 inches long. 🙂

Cravings: Sweet chili and sour cream rice crackers, caramel ice cream, tea, grapefruit.

Aversions: Nothing really.

Symptoms: Pimples, lower back pain, increased energy, good sleep!

As each week goes by, I’m more and more amazed at how far I have made it–and baby has made it.  I’m so overwhelmed with thankfulness for this time in my life. Every ache and pain is worth the end result. 

Speaking of aches and pains, my back pain has gradually gotten worse.  It’s on one side of my back (the same side I have had some cramping on in the past) and is now seeming to run down that side of my butt/leg.  Ouch.  I have been going to my regular chiropractic appointments, but he can’t crack my lower back anymore because of baby.  Which is fine.  But it hurts.  I can’t walk very well at times because of it.  I’m thinking what I’ll do is buy one of those back/tummy supports for pregnant women.  I think that would keep everything supported enough to help…I think.

I have figured out how to be comfortable whilst sleeping now.  It requires a whole lot of pillows.  I now sleep on the couch so that the cushion can support my back.  I also place a pillow at the top of my back (just below my neck) and on my lower back/bum.  I tuck the lower back pillow under my bum just a bit for added support.  I also sleep with a body pillow.  So, great sleep this week.

Baby is 5 inches long now and I feel it move every day and can’t wait to feel stronger movements/kicks. I notice it moving most when I start teaching piano and my students are playing.  I have felt it a few times while playing myself, too.  I love knowing that my baby is already a little musical.  🙂  

As for my nails, they are growing so so fast!  I wouldn’t mind that except for the fact that I grew up playing piano and HATE having my nails long at all.  So, I’m having to get used to keeping up with them a bit more often than I’d like.  Ah, well, there could be worse things to complain about.

My hair has been really good!  It looks healthy and lush.  It does, however, feel very thick.  I’ll have to get it shaped up really soon so it won’t drive me too crazy.  My hair is usually very thick, but now it’s thicker than ever.  It’ll be nice to go treat myself to a nice haircut.

I hope my posts aren’t too boring.  I’ve been thinking about what else to write during the week, but my creativity is seriously lacking.  Sorry girls.  I will keep trying, and if you have any ideas please let me know.

4 thoughts on “16 weeks pregnant: back aches, crazy nails, amazing hair.

  1. I feel you with the back pain thing. My husband usually pops my back into place for me by doing this thing where he lifts me from behind by my elbows, but the last time we tried it a few days ago it felt really uncomfortable, so I think we can’t do that anymore 😦 Now I don’t know how to keep my back in place anymore!

    • It’s gotten better for me. I think mine was connected to the shoes I was wearing, which has happened before. I am using heaps of pillows when I’m sleeping, too, and that seems to be helping. Hope your backache clears up soon!

  2. I can’t wait for my next scan as I feel like nothing at all is happening – my bump is still not really a bump – I just look thick and heavy. Plus I don’t feel any movement yada yada… I am sure the bump will become incredibly irritating and huge later on so I ought to be grateful? Hmmmph. Looking forward to your next update!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

