Red Raspberry leaf?

Image

I have researched this herb quite a bit, because I ordered the certified organics prenatal from Rainbow Light, and they have a small amount of raspberry leaf extract.  Red Raspberry Leaf has been under debate for Lord knows how long.  Some say it’s great all throughout pregnancy because it tones your uterine muscles, and some say it could cause miscarriage because it actually makes your uterus contract.  My midwife told me to wait to take it until 32 weeks, but she wasn’t familiar with the brand and didn’t seem sure of whether it was safe in such a small amount or not.  Well, one of the ladies at my church has been a midwife for years and teaches midwifery at university now, and she told me she always recommends raspberry leaf to her patients.  After she told me that, I tried taking half doses of my prenatal to try it and thought I’d up the doses after this week (12 weeks).  So, a few days last week, I was doing that, and I felt awesome.  My energy was back, and I was feeling so normal.  Well, I think this is due to the fact that rainbow light vitamins are food based, so your body absorbs the vitamins and minerals much easier. 

Long story short, I got scared.  I started thinking, “what are you doing going against your midwife and self-diagnosing?”  So I stopped taking them and switched back to my other prenatal, but now I’m feeling worn out and my energy is gone again–which tells me my body is not absorbing the nutrients I need….

SO…I really want to switch back, but the minute amount of raspberry leaf freaks me out enough to second guess whether I should.  I THINK now that I’m almost to 2nd trimester, it should be safe, but…I just don’t know.  Do any of y’all have experience with this?  Or know of any actual evidence that it’s not safe?  It just seems like a petty debate with no proof of either side at this stage…  I would love your opinions and advice.  

8 thoughts on “Red Raspberry leaf?

  1. My midwife gave me a recipe for pregnancy tea and I THINK it was mainly nettle and raspberry, but I’ll have to double check when I get home. I haven’t begun taking it yet, but I bought a bunch of herbs for it. Anyway, she made no mention of when it was safe to start…

  2. I actually take this prenatal and have at the advice of my acupuncturist (she took it with both of her pregnancies and recommends it to all of her patients) and the okay of my RE. I am 10 weeks pregnant, and love this prenatal because it doesn’t make me sick and helps with energy. It also has a probiotic in it, so it really helps with constipation. This prenatal was also recommended by one of my best friend’s midwives, so I feel very comfortable taking it.

    I found this information on the American Pregnancy site about red raspberry leaf: http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/naturalherbsvitamins.html

    Red Raspberry Leaf – Rich in iron, this herb has helped tone the uterus, increase milk production, decrease nausea, and ease labor pains. Some studies have even reported that using red raspberry leaf during pregnancy can reduce complications and the use of interventions during birth.5 You may see pregnancy teas that are made from red raspberry leaf to help promote uterine health during pregnancy. (Read about herbal teasfor more information)
    There is some controversy about whether this should be used throughout pregnancy or just in the second and third trimester, so many health care providers remain cautious and only recommend using it after the first trimester.

    • Ok, I looked at my pregnancy tea recipe from my midwife and it indeed is composed of nettle and red raspberry leaf. The little synopsis actually says that red raspberry may help to PREVENT premature labor! I take the New Chapter Perfect Prenatal, which is organic and whole food and has never made me feel nauseous (it has less iron than some vitamins). It has raspberry as part of the herbal blend portion, and I’ve been taking it since January of this year (3 months before I became pregnant).

      • I think that sounds like a safe choice. Congrats on being (almost) in second trimester!!!!!!! It’s lovely 🙂

      • I think that sounds like a safe choice. Congrats on being (almost) in second trimester!!!!!!! It’s lovely 🙂

        Also, wow, we are exactly 4 weeks apart because I’ll be 17 weeks on Monday 😀

    • Thank you so much for the info! I think because I’m almost in my 2nd trimester, it should be safe to take either way. I definitely felt more energetic on it before, and I know it’s full of good stuff that my other prenatal is not.

Leave a Reply

