12 weeeeeks!!! Pregnant!!!

Cravings: Mostly cheese.  

Aversions: Still don’t like seafood, and salsa smells a bit too strong still.

Symptoms: Bloating (need to eat more fruit and less sugar), Leg cramps, tender breasts, round ligament pain, and the ever famous pregnancy brain.

This week was both awesome and agonizing.  My pregnancy is going wonderfully.  I’m growing a bit bigger and feel like I’m starting to pop out (although still not sure how much is bloat and how much is baby), and we went to the midwife this past week only to find the heartbeat.  Last time, if you remember, she couldnt’ find it.  She said it was still too early.  Well, it took a few minutes this time, but she found it!  It was exhilarating to know there really is a baby in there and it has a heartbeat!  It was funny, too, because she found it and about 5 seconds later, the baby moved away from the doppler wand, so she had to try to find it again.  After a few more minutes, she found it in a completely different place hiding deep in my uterus.  It made me feel good to find out that this baby is definitely ours (we both hate being woken up or bothered if we’re doing our own thing).  The midwife also said she could tell by the sounds on the doppler that the baby was kicking and moving around a lot.  So cool!  That was the best part of my week, and I can’t stop smiling when I think of it.  

The agonizing part of the week started on Thursday.  A man in our very close-knit church, Richard, has been battling melanoma for 2 years.  When he was diagnosed, they gave him only a few months to live, but God healed him for a time, and he was able to make it 2 more years.  Well, last week, they did a scan and found a block in front of his liver stopping any blood from getting in and out…and there was nothing they could do about it.  He died the day we found out about the blockage.  I knew he wasn’t going to make it after we heard the news, but I was thinking it would be another week or something…it felt so quick.  Anyway, he was a positive, amazing Christian man.  His last words to my in-laws was “It’s okay, I’ll see you later.”  And we will see him later!  I am so glad for the reassurance of heaven…it makes the pain of death sting a lot less.  So, his funeral is this week and I’m playing piano for it.  I’ve never played for a funeral before, and I’m a little nervous…mostly because I’m afraid I won’t be able to see the music through all my tears.  I feel honored to do it, though.

I am so excited to be at 12 weeks!  There’s a lot of debate about when 2nd trimester actually starts, but I’m going with 13 weeks.  It’s right in the middle (they say 12-14 weeks), and I think it’s fairly accurate.  So, one more week and I’m in 2nd trimester!  The honeymoon phase of pregnancy.  🙂  I look forward to all it brings: Showing more, feeling the baby kick, our first ultrasound, finding out the gender, and my birthday happens to be in there somewhere.  Good times.  I keep praying that all will go well, and I believe it will.  It’s crazy to think we’ll have a baby in our arms in 6 months!

I hope y’all have a wonderful 4th of July!  We are grilling out at our house with my in-laws, and I’m buying some sparklers for fun!  I love holidays.  I’m thinking about going all out since it’s the first thing we’ve hosted at our house.  I can’t wait.

3 thoughts on “12 weeeeeks!!! Pregnant!!!

  1. I feel so happy for you! I’m smiling right now over what you said about hearing the heartbeat because I was grinning like a fool when we heard ours too! ‘m so sorry about your friend 😦 The promise of heaven is wonderful though!

    Can you believe you’re almost to your second trimester already?? I know it almost caught me by surprise when I reached it because I had just been concentrating so hard on just surviving!

    • Exactly! I feel like I’ve crossed a huge milestone and can’t wait for what’s to come. I keep thinking I’m still 11 weeks and smile when I realize I’m at 12! Crazy! I can’t wait to feel movement like you did this past week. 🙂

      • Yeah, I keep almost losing track of the weeks now- they’re moving so quickly! When people ask me, I have to stop and think a minute 🙂

        I’m not sure now that I actually felt movement 😦 Probably was just gas, lol! But it will happen soon- for you and me both!

Leave a Reply

