Acne management during pregnancy

I have had problems with acne since the young age of 8.  Since going gluten/soy free, however, my face cleared up.  The only times I would break out were when I did have gluten or soy.  So, because of this, I have freaked out a little when my pregnancy has caused me to break out quite a bit in the past week or so.  I kept thinking if I had gluten or soy then it was a problem for the baby, because a symptom of celiac is miscarriage.  I think, however, in this case, it’s simply the change in crazy hormones.  

Many of you probably know that during pregnancy, acne medications/harsh chemicals are discouraged and prohibited.  I haven’t wanted to go the benzoyl peroxide route, so here’s what I’ve done that seems to be helping so far: 

  • Washing my face only at night.  I have the blessed position to not have to wear make up every day, so in the past few days, I’ve just washed before bedtime.  This seems to be helping control the break outs.  
  • Use tea tree oil.  This is easy to get in Australia.  You can buy it at any grocery store.  I’m not sure, though, where you can buy it in the U.S. (or other countries).  Sorry!  Maybe check a health food shop or a whole foods type market?  Anyway, tea tree oil is an excellent solution to acne.  In fact, it’s one of the best things you can use.  I spot treat each blemish after cleansing each night.  With out fail, the blemish is magically smaller the next morning.  
  • Drink lots of water.

Do you ladies have any tips to add to this list?  Hope this helps!

3 thoughts on “Acne management during pregnancy

  1. I had a lot of trouble with this as well during the first part of my pregnancy. In fact, before I even found out I was pregnant, I had one of the worst breakouts of my life (that should have been a clue I guess!). I know that some things (chocolate, dairy) trigger breakouts for me and I kind of naturally avoided those things during my bad bad morning sickness portion, which did help. Otherwise, I only put lotion on my face once a day instead of twice. I found this “emergency gel” stuff with safe/natural ingredients that I still use once a day (it really felt like an emergency!). Sounds like you’re doing what you can, and don’t worry too much- it’s definitely normal for this to happen!

  2. I gotta confess, I did break down and go buy a tube of benzoyl peroxide for the first time in maybe 10 years. I had this one that would. not. go. away. No matter how much I washed my face, the thing was nowhere close to shrinking! And it made me feel awful. Luckily, the pimple production has ceased, so I really only used the stuff for maybe 3 days. I have been washing my face more too, but for someone who suffers from chronic dry skin, I now apply lotion like, 5 times a day. No joke.

    My other tricks are to use toner, which is mild as long as it doesn’t have strong fumes, and sometimes, I put on neosporin to help clean up an area.

    • I think benzoyl peroxide is okay in small doses. I might have to try toner. I’m finding my face is way more red and way more sensitive than pre-pregnancy. I’m not really sure what to do about that…it’s kind of embarrassing. I look like a tomato if I’m not wearing makeup. Ah, well, all worth it in the end. 🙂

Leave a Reply

