Pregnancy 6 weeks

Cravings: Had a few for milkshakes at the beginning of the week, but nothing really after those few days.  I do have to eat every 2 hours, though, or I don’t feel well.

Aversions: Olives.

Symptoms: Pregnancy brain (which I forgot to mention last week-ha), lower back aches, bloat, constipation, tender breasts, a bit more fatigue, frequent urination (getting used to this one more and more), incredibly emotional.

I am surprised that I’m feeling so good.  Part of me still second guesses whether I’m pregnant or not, but I’ve kept the tests and take a peek at them when I need reassurance.  Bloat and constipation have been terrible in the last week, but I remembered an article I read that stated eating 2 kiwis per day keeps everything regular.  So, I’ve started eating one every 24 hours, and it’s working beautifully.  

I can’t seem to do anything about pregnancy brain, and it sure is strong.  I feel a little like I’m losing my mind, but there’s nothing I can really do about it.  I’m forgetting items before I leave, names, dates, and just now remembered that I have to leave in 15 minutes for a chiropractors appointment (good thing I remembered soon enough).  

As far as lower back pain goes, it’s stronger on some days than others.  It seems like when I wear shoes, my back pain gets worse.  When I’m at home in my sock feet, my back pain isn’t too bad.  Either way, I’m going to the kinesiologist/chiropractor that my midwife recommended today, and I’m sure that will help immensely.

Other than that, my emotions have gone ape crap.  Wow, take PMS and times it by 1000 and you have pregnancy.  Hubby and I have had to work extra hard working through our arguments lately because I’m hurt but I’m also extremely crabby so we both end up hurt and feeling the other one was the crabby one.  We seem to be getting the hang of things, though, so the past few days have been much better.  I seriously cry or get angry at the drop of a hat, though.  And I don’t mean that I get a little upset.  I get REALLY upset…kind of embarrassing.

An exciting thing happened on Saturday: We got to tour the birth centre!  It’s beautiful.  They have made it homey and comfortable, and the tubs are huge and deep and I can’t wait to give birth in one of them (I already have a favourite room picked out).  It’s connected to the hospital, which is lovely in case anything goes wrong (I’m not anticipating that, but insurance of safety is always good).  And the more I interact with my midwife, the better.  I did find out that since we didn’t need the dating ultrasound and since we don’t want the testing for downs syndrome done, my first ultrasound won’t be until 18 weeks!  That seems like forever away!  The good thing, however, is that we will most likely be able to find out the gender then and the baby will look like a baby and not just a dot.  I will get to hear the heartbeat at my next midwife appointment, which is only 3 weeks from Friday!  Can’t wait.

I don’t know if this has happened to any of you other pregnant ladies, but I have had a few dreams that I go the bathroom and there’s spotting or blood.  I think my mind is just releasing my fear of miscarriage through these dreams, but I don’t like having them.  I always wake up and then want to immediately check and make sure everything’s okay.  I remember having a lot of worst case scenario dreams whenever my wedding was coming up, too, and nothing in my dreams came true.  Just a lot of dreams about showing up hours late or my dress having kool aid down the front or other terrible scenarios like that.  I really think these miscarriage dreams are the same thing.  After all, part of the reason we decided to tell everyone so early is so that they could all be praying fervently that the baby will stay safe and healthy and that I will, too.  There are a lot of people praying for our little one, and I believe I’m going to have a safe and healthy pregnancy.  

Yesterday at church, we read a Scripture that eased my mind a bit: “Cast all your anxieties upon Him, because He cares for you.” –1 Peter 5:7

I hope you don’t mind this long post!  I will try to post more often with shorter content, but I sure do enjoy releasing all my thoughts into this blog.  It’s fun to keep track of my journey and connect with you ladies through it.  I hope you have a great week!

8 thoughts on “Pregnancy 6 weeks

  1. Hey I am having those same dreams. So it must just be our fears leaking through! I try not to stress about it too much because I know everything is going smoothly as of now.
    It is great to know about the Kiwi – I will have to go out and get some ASAP!!! I need some regularity in my life right now!!
    Also, for the back pain, I worry about this as well, as I have always had a bad back after a soccer injury (SI joint dysfunction.) I do TONS of core strengthening, and hamstring strengthening, which will help. There is something called Transverse Abdominal Contractions – it is almost like a kegal…..google it. You can do these with bridges, walking bridges, all kinds of stomach and hamstring/hip strengthening. I do them at least 4 times a week.
    Thanks for the update!

    • Kiwis are my best friends right now lol. It’s so miserable being so bloated and irregular. Thanks for the tips on the back pain! The chiropractor seems to help me a lot, but I’m sure adding some stretching to it would help even more! 🙂

  2. I had lots of miscarriage fears during the first weeks as well, but I just kept reminding myself that I was doing everything I could do to take good care of myself and the baby and that I just needed to trust God for the rest. Also, I reminded myself that I had absolutely no reason to think that anything was wrong (other than the fact that it had been SO easy!), and I gradually stopped worrying so much 🙂 I’ll join your friends and family in praying for the health and safety of your precious baby 🙂 Also remember, after eight weeks the risk of miscarriage is greatly reduced, and you are almost there!!

Leave a Reply

