Pregnancy: Week 5

Cravings: Chicken, string cheese, and milk shakes

Aversions: Not much.  My husband was eating fried seafood the other day and the smell almost made me gag, though.  

Symptoms: Cramping, some fatigue, FREQUENT URINATION (seriously), hungry every two hours, smell sensitivity, lower back ache, and tender breasts

This week has been great.  I’ll start at last weekend, even though I was in the tail end of week 4 then.  Because Hub and I have been married 4 years and our anniversary was in the middle of the work week, we decided to go out of town for a mini vacation on the weekend.  We went to the coast and enjoyed the sunshine.  I found it much more difficult to be a keen traveler like I usually am, though.  I couldn’t walk around as long because of some round ligament/back pain, and I had to pee all the time.  Plus, when I’m hungry, I’m hungry NOW.  Haha, all in all a great weekend, though, and thrilled to have symptoms so early.

We were going to wait a few weeks to tell anyone, and I was thoroughly enjoying having this a secret between Hub and me.  It was sweet but surely didn’t last long.  Sunday, we met with the in-laws for lunch and had decided, since it was Mother’s Day, that we would tell them (also because of how differently I was acting).  So, we found a card that said “for the Mum to be” and wrote “Grand” in front of Mum.  Oh, how excited MIL was!  FIL was, too, but he is so reserved (a trait of the men of my husband’s family that I’m still not quite used to).  I was happy with his reaction, though, because when he realised it his face lit up completely.  I won’t ever forget that.

So, this week has been full of trying to tell people so that they would hear it from us and not a different source.  We only have a few more people to tell before we put it on facebook, I think.

Oh, yeah, and I had my first midwife appointment!  I feel really good about the office I chose and am looking forward to working with them.  The only thing I’m sad about is that my next appointment isn’t until 9 weeks–still 4 weeks away from now!!!  I could’ve gone for an ultrasound, but since my charting is so spot on, we calculated my due date right then and called it a day.  She ordered some bloodwork, and we’re going to tour the birthing centre on Saturday (can’t wait!).  

I keep having to remind myself that this a marathon and not a sprint.  I want to enjoy each and every day and not be held up by the fear of miscarriage or something going wrong.  I have to say, though, I can’t wait to find out the gender.

Oh yes, and I’m already having to wear maternity clothes.  Not because I’m bigger, but because it is incredibly uncomfortable (already) for me to be wearing my jeans.  Dresses, skirts, and maternity jeans it is!

I’m praying for each and every one of you that I know who are still TTC and hoping to hear news of your BFPs soon.  

5 thoughts on “Pregnancy: Week 5

    • I’m so happy to share! Yes, I find that I’m super thirsty, too! I keep remembering symptoms that I forgot to put on this post, and that in itself (pregnancy brain) is a symptom. I’m finding it difficult to nap and sometimes sleep at night, but trying to rest as much as possible. 🙂

  1. AHhh…..i am always dying of thirst, although it seems to be better than last week. Last week I felt like I had been walking all day outside in hot weather without drinking….right after I would finish 32 ounces of water…..it was that bad! I was waking in the middle of the night just to drink!!

    And yes….Im a frequent pee’r too!! waking usually 2 times in the night to pee.

Leave a Reply

