Activities to keep me busy and more

I have a lot to update on, even though it’s only been two days.  Temp is still up and seems to be climbing, and I do have twinges more than usual down in the ovarian region.  I am trying to decide exactly how early to test.  My luteal phase is usually 14 days, but I don’t know if I can wait another week and a half to test.  Maybe another week?  Maybe 12 dpo would be a compromise with my crazy self and logical self.

I woke up yesterday feeling INCREDIBLY homesick and missing specific friends.  For the first time in awhile, I felt like I didn’t want to be here in Australia.  A few minutes later, I signed onto facebook and saw a message from my little brother.

My little brother is a partier.  He lives in a college town and certainly lives a college lifestyle.  He is not settled by any means.  He has been dating a girl on and off for awhile, but they definitely have one of those on-and-off relationships…well, his message told me that I’m going to be an aunt sometime around dec/jan.  Wow.  I was shocked and, to be honest, a little pissed.  Let me just have my four year old brat moment here…I have been married 4 years and lived a stable life, and we have JUST started ttc…and somehow the timing of my little brother getting his girlfriend pregnant happens to be around the time when I hope to be getting pregnant.  WHAT?!  Augh.  

So, I went on a walk, which reminded me why I love Australia, and then I didn’t feel the need to move back to the States anymore.  And, as I prayed on my walk, even though I still feel mad and upset about the situation, God helped me to see that maybe this is a way that my brother and I can finally connect…maybe this is a way that he will finally grow up…and then I started praying–a LOT–for his future child.  I started praying that the little bean will grow up in the Lord regardless of his parents…and that maybe, just maybe, this would bring his parents to the Lord.

Then, I got home and hubby told me I got a phone call from one of the very friends I was missing that morning.  Perfect timing.  I felt better the rest of the day.

Wow, this post has ended up going in a different direction than what I thought it would.  Things that I’ve been doing to keep myself busy:

  • breaking my day up by going to the grocery store every day instead of all at once.  I don’t teach until the afternoons, so the mornings are the most challenging for me.  This helps to give me something I need to get done and gives me a chance to get out of the house and away from the internet.
  • Reading a new book.  I’m currently reading Forgiven by Karen Kingsbury, and I’m enjoying the series.  I had to take a break after the first part of this family series, because there is a lot of drama.  Now, though, I need someone else’s drama to keep me from creating my own.  🙂
  • Lots and lots and LOTS of Netflix.  My favorites: the Office (currently on season 6), Miss Conception (a cute movie about a woman about to go into early menopause that needs to conceive quickly.  A lot of language and some cheese, but overall a cute feel-good movie), and White Collar.
  • Journaling and doing my devotions.  This keeps my mind out of crazy land.

I’ll keep y’all updated on any changes.  Also, CONGRATULATIONS to those of you who have received your bfps lately!  There have been quite a few, and I’m so VERY excited for you!!!

2 thoughts on “Activities to keep me busy and more

Leave a Reply

