Cycle 1

CD 3 and I’m feeling optimistic.  Our first official cycle ttc and I can hardly wait to see where this journey takes us.  I was surprised to get af so early this cycle (and, of course, wondered if it could be implantation, but it definitely isn’t), but I’m glad to have a fresh start and be able to get back on track before I ovulate.  I have almost lost the vacation weight I gained (a whopping 6 pounds–thank you America) and hope to lose the other 7 by ovulation. 

I’m excited and looking forward to actually starting this journey.  Last night, my husband proclaimed that having kids was going to literally change everything about our lives.  I agreed with him, and we both seem to be scared and/or excited about the changes that baby will bring.  It’s one of those stages of life, like engagement and marriage, that changes absolutely everything.  Once it happens, you won’t go back to being the same again–ever.  It’s exciting and terrifying and awesome all at the same time.  

I’ve also been thinking about work.  I teach piano, and I need to decide now how much I can handle once I get pregnant and have the baby.  I think having one or two days of teaching would be beneficial for me–just to be able to get out of the house a little bit and have adult time, but I don’t want anymore than that.  And, because a lot of my students are school aged kids, I have had to teach after school up until this point.  I am going to have to be creative about what else I can do once baby comes along.  Any suggestions?  Also, how much maternity leave to take?  Planning, planning.  It’s exciting that I have my own business and can decide for myself, though.

And, I ordered a pack of 10 pregnancy tests and some preseed, which should be here any day.  

4 thoughts on “Cycle 1

  1. I’m so excited for you! Hopefully you can remain more calm than I did my first month 🙂 It’s great that you’re temping. I think it’s going to really help that you’ve started that from the beginning because you’ll know so much more about your body and your cycle. God bless you!

    • Thank you! My husband and I actually had a chat last night about making sure I don’t get stressed (I’m more prone to it than he is). I will keep temping, but I’m not going to do any of the other things that I’m tempted to do at this stage (opks, staying in bed with my butt propped up for 30 min after bd, etc). That way, we can hopefully have fun this first cycle or two and not be so worried and stress more if I don’t get pregnant after a month or two. I have a good feeling about doing things this way. 🙂

      • It’s really good that you had that conversation! It’s crazy how stressful it can be.

        lol, I stayed in bed at least 10 min after every bd- not with my butt propped up but yeah…. it was kind of a pain! 🙂

Leave a Reply

