Story time: Elizabeth

“…she who was called barren is now in her sixth month.  For nothing will be impossible with God.” –Luke 1:36b-37

Oh, I love the promises of the Word.  This is one of my favourite conception and pregnancy stories, and it delights me each time I read it to think of how Elizabeth must’ve felt.  Elizabeth was a relative of Mary, the young woman who was given the privilege of mothering Jesus.  The story of Mary touches my heart as well, but I will focus on one joyful story at a time.  

At this point, I don’t know how long Elizabeth and her husband, Zachariah, had been trying to conceive (it makes me laugh to think of her using our modern day abbreviations of ttc), but the Bible makes it clear that she was well beyond her years of child bearing (much like Sarah).  Zachariah gets a powerful visit from the angel, Gabriel, and finds out from him that his wife is pregnant.  If it were my husband, he would want to jump up and tell everyone what God had done, but Zach decided to doubt a little (a natural reaction) and was mute until after the baby was born because of his doubt.  So, he couldn’t rush out and proclaim to the world that he was finally going to be a father.  I think this ended up being better for Elizabeth, though, because she goes into a sort of cocoon of hiding for five months. Then, Mary comes to visit her (after she found out she was pregnant.  Can you imagine the joy they must’ve both felt, being pregnant in two different miraculous circumstances at the same time?!  This was truly a gift from God).

Image

Picture courtesy of Garden of Praise

“When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the baby leaped in her womb; and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit.” –Luke 1:41

I wonder if this was the first time Elizabeth felt the baby?  

Now the time had come for Elizabeth to give birth, and she gave birth to a son.  Her neighbours and her relatives heard that the Lord had displayed His great mercy toward her; and they were rejoicing with her.” –Luke 1:57-58

This part of the story gives me chills.  To think not only of the fact that this miracle of life happened and happened in a woman that wasn’t even supposed to conceive, but also to think about the community she had surrounding her to celebrate and rejoice in this miracle.  Ladies, isn’t it wonderful to have a community around you, rejoicing with you and surrounding you with support?  I think this will be one of the most touching and healing things about pregnancy and birth, and I sure am looking forward to it.

I grew up in a family that was dysfunctional, to say the least.  My dad is a narcissist and controlled all of our lives through his verbal abuse and manipulation.  Thus, very few times in my life did I feel supported and loved the way I needed, and when I did feel that way it was always outside the home.  Lately, however, I feel the blessing of God upon my life in providing in laws that are a normal functional family full of love and support.  I feel the blessing of God that I also have a church family that so models after the early church in Acts that I am overwhelmed with the love and support.  I have truly been adopted into a new family, and I am overjoyed.  I cannot wait to get pregnant, share the news with all of them, and have them surround me with support and rejoice with me when the baby is born.  

God truly does make things new in our lives when we allow Him to work.  Elizabeth sure did know that, and I join with her celebration and continue it for each one of you that will one day get pregnant as well.  Don’t fret, friends.  For nothing will be impossible with God.

3 thoughts on “Story time: Elizabeth

  1. THank you for the wonderful post. It made me feel good. Hysteroscopy went well today so I am praying that my body will be ready for IVF #3 in April. It would be so wonderful to be able to share the news of a baby with everyone and also all the wonderful ladies I have me thru my blog. So thank you and I look forward to some day sharing in my joy as well as yours!

  2. Pingback: Happy Blogiversary! | laughingpromises

Leave a Reply

