Saturday morning disturbance(s)

Have you ever had one of those Saturday mornings where the world just seems to want to keep you from sleeping in?  That describes my morning in a nut shell.

The landlord was mowing my lawn (I’m not complaining), so I had to get out of bed, get dressed and get the clothes off the line and move Guster’s cage (my guinea pig).  I must’ve looked quite disheveled, because the guy cut the mower for a sec and asked if Saturday mornings were okay.  Of course I told him it was fine and I had just forgotten–true, but I wondered why he was asking.  Then I came inside and looked in the mirror.  Mercy.

Awhile later, I was quietly reading and trying to wake up (since I didn’t get to sleep in as late as I had anticipated) and I heard the cat that hangs out at our house (a whole other story) mewing.  I knew someone was at the door, and we have lace curtains so there’s no hiding.  I answered the door and, lo and behold, it was a Jehovah’s witness couple wanting to have a chat and drop off some literature.  Let me say I do respect the fact that JW’s get out and talk to people on a regular basis.  However, I don’t want to be disturbed early Saturday morning, and I don’t want to be pressured into debating with them about their beliefs in the Bible.  Especially when I’m not awake enough to feel anything but grumpy and don’t yet look presentable.

And, even still, awhile later, I received a phone call.  This was from a friend, and I didn’t mind her call.  I’m just not used to having so much happen on a Saturday morning before I’ve even had a cup of coffee or tea.  

The good news is, I’m getting ready to shower and look pretty and smell good and then my husband’s taking me out to the movies.  I do love dates with him and cherish him dearly.  It will be nice to get out of the house and just see him for awhile.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

