Miscarriage…

I found out yesterday that one of my husband’s dear friends and his wife suffered a miscarriage.  She was 20 weeks along, and the baby’s heart stopped beating.

My heart is broken.  I think what they’re going through sounds like the worst thing that could happen to anyone…

When I prayed for God to “break my heart for what breaks Yours,” I didn’t expect for the answer to that prayer to be such a deep and wounding heartbreak.  I know that little boy is in heaven, and I am comforted in the fact that at least his parents will get to meet him one day…until then, I am praying for their hearts.  I don’t know that this is something you could ever fully heal from.  

When I was about 4 or 5 years old, my parents announced to my brothers and me that we were going to get a little sister.  I was so excited!  I couldn’t wait to have a little sister.  Someone to play dress up with and talk to late at night about the deepest secrets of our hearts.  Every night at dinner, I prayed that Mom would have twins…two sisters, I thought!  Perfect idea!

Sadly, a few months later, we found out our sister was in heaven.  Her name is Elizabeth Grace.  I still think about what it would’ve been like to have her around here on earth…to not say I had two brothers only, but a sister as well.  I look forward to meeting her one glorious day, though.

Miscarriage can touch our lives in many ways…and the pain of it doesn’t fully clear for anyone touched by it.  I cling to the promise of heaven and one day meeting Elizabeth and the little boy that died this week…Maybe they’ll be friends up there.

2 thoughts on “Miscarriage…

  1. That’s so heartbreaking. Your friends will be in my thoughts.

    I’m also sorry you had to go through that as a child. I remember my mother miscarrying, but I was too young to understand what it really meant and so it never really hurt me until I was older and heard my Mom talk about it. I can’t imagine the pain of looking forward to a new sibling and then having that hope crushed.

    These are the sad truths of the world. But, just remember whenever you see a beautiful smiling child (or even a naughty one…) how special they are and how lucky the world is to have them!

  2. Pingback: Happy Blogiversary! | laughingpromises

Leave a Reply

