Story time: Leah

I am so enjoying reading some of your blogs and getting to know you through comments.  Thanks to my new followers, also!  

Today I woke up feeling a little gloomy for no apparent reason (it just happens sometimes).  I stayed in bed reading for a little bit and then got up and made breakfast.  As I sat down to eat, I prayed about my business.

Did I mention I teach piano?  This is my second year teaching.  All of my students from last year have rebooked for this school year, and I am hoping to double the amount of students this year.  

Anyway, back to my thought.  I prayed that God would bring me some new students in the next few weeks and bless my efforts.  A few minutes later, my phone rang, and I talked to a lovely lady that may potentially call back for lessons.  It wasn’t a booking, but it might turn into one.

Also, I read this post on passionate homemaking, and it made me realise that sometimes I wake up and sulk.  Maybe the thing for me to do is get up, read my Bible, get dressed, and be ready for the day.  So, I did.

Can I tell you how interesting I find the Old Testament?  I think it’s fascinating.  Today I read in Genesis 29, and verse 31 caught my eye:

“When the LORD saw that Leah was hated, he opened her womb, but Rachel was barren.  And Leah conceived and bore a son, and she called his name Reuben, for she said, ‘Because the LORD has looked upon my affliction; for now my husband will love me.’  She conceived again and bore a son, and said, ‘Because the LORD has heard that I am hated, he has given me this son also.’  And she called his name Simeon.  Again she conceived and bore a son, and said, ‘Now this time my husband will be attached to me, because I have borne him three sons.’  Therefore his name was called Levi. “

Let me back up and explain the history of this passage.  Jacob, Leah’s wife, married her only because her father tricked him into it.  He wanted to marry Rachel, the love of his life.  When the wedding night came, his father deceived Jacob by giving him Leah.  Of course, when Jacob found out, he confronted Laban (the father) and let him know that the arrangement would not work for him.  Thus, Jacob ended up marrying both Leah and Rachel and, of course, he loved Rachel and didn’t care much for Leah.  So, this woman is desperate for the love of her husband.  She tries to please him and be a great wife, but he simply cares for Rachel more.  With each child, she thinks he will finally love her.  I love the end of this passage.

“And she conceived again and bore a son, and said, ‘This time I will praise the LORD.’  Therefore, she called his name Judah.  Then she ceased bearing.”

Judah means “praise.”  I love the conclusion that Leah finally comes to.  When all is said and done, our purpose on this earth is not to please our husbands, not to gain their love, not even to be a good wife.  Our purpose on this earth is to praise the Lord.  Leah finally got it.  I hope to grasp this truth long before all the children I desire are born.  

Judah ended up being the great great, etc. grandfather of King David and then of Jesus Himself.  When we stop and surrender our dreams and desires and praise the Lord, beautiful things happen.  It changes history, and maybe even eternity.Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Story time: Leah

  1. Such a beautiful passage. And such fantastic advice from Passionate Homemaking. Although, I am a Buddhist, it still would be a wonderful idea to wake up, say a prayer, and dress myself. I need to work on this. I think I’d feel so much more in control of my day.

    I hope you have fantastic success with your piano lessons! I’m awful at piano. I have so much respect for people who do well with it. Kudos to you!

    • I think it’s healing somehow to start our day off with the right focus. How much more refreshed and ready to go I feel when I get up and just get dressed!

      If I lived near you, I would totally teach you some piano! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Happy Blogiversary! | laughingpromises

Leave a Reply

