Goals: Weight loss

This time last year, I felt a prompting from the Lord to start praying for my future children and that He would prepare my husband and me for parenthood.  I have desired for children since I got married, but knew it wasn’t the right time yet and waited for the gentle leading of my husband to help determine when.  I felt it in my gut last year, though…soon.  Soon, to me, meant in the next year and a half…and here we are planning to start trying to conceive (which may have started sooner if not for a trip overseas–we didn’t want to take any chances with the plane ride).  Anyway, to prepare my heart and keep my mind occupied, I began reading books and online articles.  So far, I’ve read more articles than anything, but lately, since the time quickly approaches, I’ve been reading a few books on ttc.

Image

My current read

At the moment, I’m reading “What to Expect Before You’re Expecting.”  Across the board, people have many different opinions of the “What to Expect” books.  I have seen mostly negative feedback, but a few people spoke positively.  I like to read things and find out for myself, so I took the plunge and bought the kindle edition (instant gratification).  Although a lot of the information that I’ve read so far are things I already knew, I am finding it informative.  The tidbit that hit me the hardest is the fact that fat cells produce estrogen, so if we have excess fat cells, it can affect our fertility!  I had no idea about this.  I knew, of course, that losing weight can help fertility, but I didn’t realise the direct connection between the hormone aspect of things.

In my journey with PCOS, I have had to cut back on a lot of things.  I found out that one of the causes of my symptoms came directly from gluten and have eaten gluten free ever since.  Then I later found out that soy was having some intense effects, particularly causing severe cramping, nausea, and long cycles.  So, I eat gluten and soy free.  I have noticed, however, that my ovulation day still doesn’t come until CD 20-25 and is never consistent.  There isn’t a whole lot more that I could cut back on with my diet, and I have been trying to think of the missing link.  I think, thanks to this book, that I have found it.  I still carry weight around my middle, a symptom of PCOS, and I have been dreading the hard work involved in losing this weight.  Now that I know the direct connection, however, I am ready to try.  So, my friends, in order to be in a healthy BMI range, I have to lose 13 lbs or more.  My goal is to lose those 13 lbs. by March and go from there.  At this point in my life, I will be so happy to be active and in a healthy weight range.  I’m not so concerned about whether I look a certain way, although I know I will feel more confident.  I’m just very excited to be working toward this goal so that I can have a healthy pregnancy.

I will be tracking my weight loss, nutrition, and fitness on Sparkpeople.  Visit my sparkpage to join in the challenge and set your own goals.  I would love to have some friends to do this with!

2 thoughts on “Goals: Weight loss

  1. I read this many years ago. Another good book is ” Taking Charge of Your Fertility” like you I have PCOS, and I am diabetic, and I was obese when I was ttc my daughter. I am now only 10lbs overweight,and working on that!

    • My goodness, I love Taking Charge of Your Fertility! I read it about two years ago and started charting to know what was going on and still look things up all the time. Such a great book! Sounds like we should swap reads. 🙂

Leave a Reply

