Gluten free

I have been frantically searching for advice about eating gluten free in airports, and I decided to visit Gluten Free Girl‘s blog for advice.  She has a whole section of posts if you’re new to eating gluten free.  Along with the aforementioned topic of airports, she has this post.  I love the way she describes her pregnancy: Having the team of support, embracing what her body can do, enjoying her food.  

One thing she said caught my attention, and I knew I had to share it with you.  

“Undiagnosed celiac is the leading cause of unexplained infertility. If you’re trying to become pregnant, you might want to look into this.”

Please, ladies, if you’re having trouble conceiving, go get tested for celiac.  Do not cut out gluten until you have the blood test.  I believe this statement that she made to be true because of my own experience.  Before cutting out gluten, I had no periods.  Sure, when I was on the pill, I had regular periods.  The day I threw out my pack of pills, determined to be healthier with out synthetic drugs (among other reasons), my body shut down in the hormone department.  No cm, no cramps, no period.  For 8 months.  In the 8th month, after seeing doctors (who told me they couldn’t do anything for me if I didn’t want to be on the pill) and a naturopath for months, the naturopath finally suggested that I cut back on my gluten and see if that would help.  When she suggested this, I almost felt a lightbulb go off in my head.  Of course, I thought.  This might be the link.  When I got home, I researched like crazy and found two interesting things: 1. Many women with PCOS have gluten intolerance (of course no one ever told me this).  2. As Shauna said, infertility is one of the main signs of celiac.  And miscarriage.  If you have had multiple miscarriages or have had trouble conceiving, this may just be the missing link for you too.  

That day, I cut out gluten and have never looked back.  My chart went from this:

Image

Erratic temperatures, no sign of ovulation.

To this: 

Image

A little more normal temperatures and definite ovulation.  Granted, still not perfect.  I will have to continue my story about soy allergies later, but either way, I will never go back to eating gluten.

I hope each and every one of you can benefit in some way from my experience and the experience of gluten free girl.  Check out her blog and do a bit of research yourself.  See if you are having some of the symptoms of celiac and get tested.

2 thoughts on “Gluten free

  1. Pingback: Happy Blogiversary! | laughingpromises

Leave a Reply

